Taking Time Out to Listen

 

I’m sitting in my living room on a Sunday morning, still in my pajamas and ugg-boots, feet resting on the coffee table. My laptop is balanced on my lap, and I’m having a moment of peace.

I sat down in the middle of doing some housework because I’d had a brilliant idea for a blog post which I felt I had to write immediately, before the inspiration faded.

But, as I prepared to write, I started to notice the space around me.

It is a beautiful, warm, spring morning. The light outside is probably too bright for writing, but it is gently filtered by my living room curtains. I can hear the bird song. There are lots of currawongs and cockatoos outside, by the sound of their calls.

Occasionally I hear the drone of an aeroplane overhead, and the rumble of the traffic along the Pacific Highway, not far from my flat.

Upstairs there is the soft hum of a neighbour’s vacuum cleaner, and in the distance, I hear a neighbours dog barking.

It’s not silent, but it’s peaceful.

Usually my life is noisy. I listen to music, or podcasts or audiobooks while I do housework or drive from one place to another. When I’m not working, I’m reading books, blogs, newspapers and my twitter feed. I’m always, always thinking.

My brain is so noisy. I toss around all the things that have either inspired or troubled me, turning them over in my head and working out what I think or want to do about those things. I plan, make lists, solve problems, find new problems, grumble, rejoice, philosophise, wonder and create. It’s hard work all this thinking, and sometimes I think it is noisier inside my head than outside.

So it’s nice to be able to switch off from time to time. I’m glad I started to notice the birdsong this morning.  I’m feeling more peaceful and content than I have in a long time.

Here is a video I found in which you can hear the birdsong from my part of Sydney.

 

2 thoughts on “Taking Time Out to Listen

  1. Good to know you’re still in your jammies on a Sunday! It’s sounding like that in my backyard too. Just add the breeze tossing the leaves in the gum trees, and the neighbour’s kids chatting while they ride their bikes. Taking everything in in the moment, even for five minutes or so, is a great way to find some peace, I think.

Leave a Reply

