Why I Write

I need to write almost as much as I need to breathe. Its my way of making sense of things, of clarifying ideas. Its how I discover what it is I really think, feel or believe about things.

When I don’t write, I start to feel overwhelmed. My head is so busy with thoughts and ideas spinning around, crashing into each other. There is so much noise in there some days.

Writing allows me to take those thoughts out of my head and put them into some sort of order. It allows me to experience peace. It allows me to focus. It allows me to reflect and to learn.

I write every day, in many forms, but probably the most satisfying form of all is blogging, even though I don’ t do it very regularly. I think its because its public. I have to be disciplined. I can’t go round and round in circles, navel gazing and being self indulgent. I have to get to the point.

And when I get to the point I learn. I figure out who I am, what I believe in, what I value and what I need to do. It’s how I grow.

That’s why I write.

Why do you write?

4 thoughts on “Why I Write

  1. Very nice post. I just started writing a novel and a blog. Like you, I write every day – for work and enjoyment. Why? Because words can be powerful, and if I can use them to make someone’s day more enjoyable, why not?

    • Hi M.C. Your right, words are SO powerful. I like that you are using yours to make the world a more enjoyable place. Good luck with the blog and the novel. Both huge commitments, but the rewards will be worth it. Thanks so much for commenting.

  2. I hear you! My private writing is so different from my blogging, duller and less to-the-point, as you say. Knowing I have an audience makes me very conscious of how my writing comes across (which is why I edit it a dozen times even after publishing it!) and whether my ideas are clear. I’m not sure if I have a style yet, but I’m writing every day and that is good practice in itself.

    I also enjoyed your description of blogging’s effect on you:
    “I have to be disciplined. I can’t go round and round in circles, navel gazing and being self indulgent. I have to get to the point. And when I get to the point I learn.”

    Very well said!

    Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

    • Thanks Engchick. I know what you mean about the editing. I keep editing way after I’ve published. I always find something that is not quite right.

      I’m glad you liked this post. Thank you so much for the feedback.

Leave a Reply

