Sunday Books: Night of The Living Trekkies

Today’s book is a bit of a departure from my usual offerings:

The name says it all really.

Night of the Living Trekkies is written by Kevin David Anderson and Sam Stall.

The narrative takes place at a Star Trek convention. Nearby, a secret military experiment has gone wrong, triggering a zombie apocalypse. A group of trekkies are forced to band together to fight waves of zombies as they invade the convention.

This book was a lot of fun to read. It delivered everything you would expect from title and cover. The zombie-pocalypse follows the usual pattern – a secret experiment goes wrong, people start to act strangely and before too long, the zombies are breaking down the doors of the only safe shelter left in town. 

The trekkie characters were amusing. There were plenty of in-jokes for Star Trek fans, such as the guaranteed mortality of any minor character wearing a red shirt. 

Cliches about zombies, star trek and trekkers abound; however, while the plot was predictable, this didn’t detract from the book. In fact, the cliches are why people would read this book, and accounted for much of the humour. When a group of characters decide to split up in the middle of a zombie-pocalypse, you expect them to be killed off one by one – any other result would be disappointing.

To be honest, I would actually have preferred to see this book made into a fim, like Fan Boys rather than reading it. I found it amusing, but somehow this is the type of humour I prefer to watch rather than read. Still, it was a fun, light diversion from my usual fare.

If you follow Star Trek and enjoy zombie movies, you’ll probably enjoy the book. Those who don’t follow Star Trek, might find some of the jokes and references a little hard to understand. And of course, if you don’t like zombies then this book really isn’t for you at all.

Here is the book’s trailer:

5 thoughts on “Sunday Books: Night of The Living Trekkies

  1. Oh, wow! 😀
    I’ve never seen a trailer for a book before! I can see what you are saying about it being made into a film, and I haven’t even read the book yet!
    I’m adding that to my book list… I’m a Trekkie, I like zombie tales and I love humour! Thank you for writing about it!

  2. excellent review.
    i’m adding it to my book list too.
    thanks – didn’t even about this…star trek and zombies are two of my fav things.

Leave a Reply

