Food Friday – Breadmaking Failure

I really enjoy making bread. There is something almost primal about mixing the dough by hand, kneading it, letting it rise, punching it down. Its a very physical process. As I do it, I’m continuing an age old tradition, and feel connected to that history.

I love the smell of baking bread, and there are few more satisfying pleasures than eating a piece of fresh baked bread with just a scrape of butter on it. I like to think it is also healthier. There are no preservatives or chemicals in my home made bread. Its less processed.

However, as I wrote on Wednesday, I’m trying to manage my time better so I can be more productive. With this in mind, I bought a breadmaker using some gift cards I’d been given for Christmas.

Excited by my new purchase, I bought a bread mix to make up some rye bread and set to work as soon as I arrived home.

It was a disaster.

At first I couldn’t work out what I had done wrong, but then I realised. In my eagerness to get started, I had grabbed the 500 mL measuring jug instead of the 250 mL – so put twice the amount of water into the bread as I should have.

I made a second loaf, with the correct quantity of water this time. It worked out much better, but was quite difficult to slice. I much prefer the flavour and textures of the breads I’ve made by hand.

I’ll keep trying with the bread maker though.

Have you had any kitchen disasters? Oh, and does anyone have any tips for making good bread in a breadmaker?

7 thoughts on “Food Friday – Breadmaking Failure

  1. Thanks for being willing to share your disaster. We’ve all had them. I wrote once about a generic cornstarch I used that made a terrible pie. But, there have been others, too. Often I find the work involved to make something is just not worth the finished product.

    • So true, although in this case it was saving on the effort of handmaking the bread which resulted in a poorer result. I’m tempted to go back to doing it by hand, but I need to give the breadmaker a bit more of a chance, I guess.

  2. Oh no, your poor bread! Your poor you! I *totally* know what you mean about the primal satisfaction of making bread–it makes me feel like I’m sharing a wink with every other person who’s ever made bread throughout all of time.

    I find that bread machine bread is consistently okay, but kind of spongey and dense. I prefer the lighter, springier bread that happens when I make it by hand.

    • Yes, I love the flavour and texture of handmade bread – but I have eaten breadmaker bread that friends have made which has been good. I think I need to just keep trying new recipes and tweaking them until I get it right. The bread I made last week was from a commercial bread mix too, not ingredients I’d mixed myself. It tasted okay – just like something you buy from the shop, but one of the reasons I like to make my own is that it usually tastes sooo much better.

  3. ooh bread. when i was making bread i read a lot about it and made a pile of loaves every week-end, i was living in a high altitude place that required much tweaking of recipes, changing liquid content, baking times etc. i loved it. along with reading, the only other thing i can suggest is make a lot of bread and invite people you love over to share in the perfect and not-so-perfect loaves…

  4. I own a breadmaker, which I use too infrequently. I usually set it overnight, so I wake in the morning to the smell of freshly baked bread. Delicious!
    One time I used it, I had a disaster. The loaf hadn’t risen. It was a very heavy flat thing when I turned it out, so it couldn’t have been eaten. The smell was there though (kind of…). It usually turns out fine however, and tastes good too!

Leave a Reply

