Thursday Music: All India Radio -The Silent Surf

It’s Thursday – time to talk music.

Today I want to tell you about an Australian band called All India Radio (A.I.R)

How can I describe their music? Its primarily instrumental and very beautiful. I find it soothing at the end of a busy day. If I am working and find it hard to focus, its the right kind of music to play in the background. It helps me quieten my thoughts and find clarity. Sometimes, if I’m having trouble sleeping, I put the headphones in and let it transport me to a more peaceful, tranquil place.

I discovered A.I.R only recently when I was looking at YouTube videos for the band The Church. In the related videos was some work that Church frontman, Steve Kilbey was doing with A.I.R’s Martin Kennedy. The music was great, so I looked into what else M.K was doing.

This led me to A.I.R’s new album, The Silent Surf. Steve Kilbey contributed the vocals to the opening track.

You can hear some of their music for free at their website. I really like their videos as well. See what you think of this one:

11 thoughts on “Thursday Music: All India Radio -The Silent Surf

  1. I love this song. Thank you so much for sharing it, and for letting us know about this band. I will definitely be checking out more of their music!

  2. A really nice, thoughtful and relaxing piece of music – just my cup of tea!

    The final part of the video, the part that looks like Saturn rising, reminds me of a dream I had once.

    Thank you for posting it! 😀

  3. Pingback: Thursday Music – M83 | oneregard

Leave a Reply

