Tilt Shift Photography App for iPhone and iPad

During the holidays I’ve been having fun experimenting with photography apps. One of my favourites is Tilt Shift which allows you to manipulate wide angle photos to make them appear as if they are miniature models rather than real scenes.

The app is easy to use and gives you control of blurring, colour intensity, contrast and light. Blurring the background can make the photo appear more like a macro, and raising the colour intensity seems to mimic the bright colours that model makers use to paint their models. Adjusting contrast and light increase the toy like effect.

I like the fact that unlike other photography apps, this one gives you complete control over the effects rather than just applying a predesigned filter. You can be more creative and have a real sense of satisfaction if your picture turns out well.

I’ve tilt shifted three photos so far.

I think I turned the brightness up too far on my first two attempts, but I’m happier with my Tobermory effort.

There are some fantastic examples of tilt shift online. This site has some of the best.

I’ve really been enjoying playing around with photography apps this summer. If you are reading this and know of a good one, I’d love to know your recommendations.

4 thoughts on “Tilt Shift Photography App for iPhone and iPad

  1. I checked out the site you linked. It is amazing what people have done. Is the app free? I’m not too gung-ho about paying for apps. I just bought one for my granddaughter, however, Goldilocks and the Three Bears. But, that’s different. 😎

  2. I paid for the one I use, but there is a free one available. Its called Tilt Shift
    Generator. The iPad version costs money, but they also have a free one for iphone, that works fine on ipad. It has a slightly annoying banner across the top, however. Still, I had a little play with it this morning and it seems to work quite well.

    • Thanks for the info. I did look up the one you suggested and found its only 99 cents. Not too bad. I don’t have time to fiddle with it right now, but maybe that can be a purchase and something I play with at a later date. I will have to “budget” for it.

      • iTunes makes things appear so cheap that I end up spending way too much money there. I always think, “It’s just a dollar” but it really adds up. I think I need to need to start budget for that as well.

Leave a Reply

