Obsessing about Jack White

With only 4 weeks remaining of the school year, its a busy time at work. As well as the usual daily work of planning, preparing, delivering, assessing and evaluating learning tasks, there are all the end of year issues. Student reports are the big one, but there are also a lot of other tasks for assistant principals, such as counting the enrolments for the coming year, forming new classes, planning for staffing in the new year. The list goes on. It also seems to be the time of year for putting out fires (all metaphorical so far).  Students start acting out, teachers start stressing out. Suffice it to say, that with all the little fires I’ve been putting out lately, I’ve had little time to attend to my important, but not urgent tasks, such as this weekend’s of writing student reports.

And so, of course instead of getting on with it, I procrastinate. My way of procrastinating is to obsess about something. Its a different obsession each time and this year’s is: Jack White (White Stripes, Raconteurs, The Dead Weather).

I’ve loved his music for a long time. I really enjoy the raw sound of it. What amazes me about Jack White is his diversity. I first became aware of him through his band The White Stripes, then earlier this year I went to see him perform with his current band, The Dead Weather. The man exudes rock star charisma. It was interesting to see. He simply walked onto the stage and sat down at the drum kit, and that was enough. He just had the most incredible presence and was utterly cool. It wasn’t as if he was trying, either. He just was so, so cool.

I’ve been spending my spare moments trawling through YouTube videos, discovering more of his work. Here is one of my favourites. Its with his band, The Raconteurs (in Australia they are marketed as The Saboteurs). Its a cover of Nancy Sinatra’s ‘Bang Bang’ and he does it so brilliantly.

*Sigh* I wish I had just an ounce of that talent!

Leave a Reply

