Is it just me?

 Perhaps its just me, but I don’t like discussing my private life with strangers. I know I that by blogging I am doing that to an extent, but that’s beside the point.

Right now I’m waiting on hold while Bigpond try to locate a technical support officer who can assist me. The first officer I spoke to seemed friendly. While she was looking up my account history she started to ask me seemingly harmless questions. “This will take a while,” she said, “So why don’t you tell me about your day. How was it?”

“Oh, quite busy,” I responded, hoping the conversation would end there.

“That’s terrible, why was it busy? What were you doing?” she persisted.

At this point, I realized that I really didn’t want to think about or share the details of my busy day with her, no matter how friendly she was. I told her, “If you don’t mind, I’d rather not discuss my personal life, I’m just after some technical support.” I made sure that I kept my tone, light and pleasant – I didn’t want to offend her.

But then she responded very strangely. She asked, “Can you just let me know if you have someone with you, or if you are alone in the house?”

“I’m not sure why you need to know that.”

“Well, I’m worried about you. You said you were busy.”

“Thank you for your concern,” I replied, “But I just want technical support.”

Is it just me, or was she being way too intrusive?
Leave a Reply

